Sagar mp
Home » Travel Guide» Sagar mp travel guide

Top 10 Imposing Stations in India

Kiomoi, 10 Best Series LogoChikbalpur Railway Station: Chikballapur Station on the Bangalore-Kolar rail route is in operation since the days of the Raj. Infact Indian Railway is still continuing with same building with tiled roofs with the pattern of a bungalow. Station Code: CBP


Egmore Railway Station

The busy Egmore Railway Station completed a 100 Years on June 11th 2008. The imposing facade combines perfectly Indo-Saracenic and Dravidian architectural elements. The design of this 300 feet long and 71 feet wide structure which began in 1905 was done by Mr.Henry Irwin and was built by Mr.Swaminada Pillai. Station Code: MS

Thiruvananthapuram Central Railway Station

One of the landmarks of Trivandrum, The building of the Central station Railway Station at Thampanoor was inaugurated on 4 November 1931. The massive granite building without using any bricks was constructed in just three years. It had cost Rs.40 lakh. at that time. The building with a floor area of 17,236 sq. ft was built by the Maharajah of Travancore. Station Code: TVC

Kachiguda Railway Station

Kachiguda Railway Station is one of the three Stations in Hyderabad. The station constructed in the year 1916 by H.E.H. Nawab Mir Osman Ali Khan, Nizam of the erstwhile Hyderabad State is architecturally most imposing in the entire South Central Railway. It served as the HQ of the Nizam`s Guaranteed State Railway of that time. The station built in the Gothic style of architecture also combines traditional Muslim architecture evident from domes and minarets. Station Code: KCG

Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus

Mother of all railway buildings in India, Victoria Terminus Station rechristened as the Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (VT) features in the world heritage list of UNESCO. The building is the finest specimen of Victorian Gothic Revival architecture in India and also combining themes from traditional Indian architecture. The building work started in 1878 took 10 years to complete to eventually become the symbol of Mumbai. Station Code: CSTM

Morbi Railway Station

Morbi lies in Rajkot district just 64 km from Rajkot and was the capital of the erstwhile princely state of Morbi. Constructed by Morbi State Railway, the Morbi Station was opened on 22nd January 1935. It resembles a palace in its imposing architecture with judicious combination of Indian and European architectural elements. Station Code: MVI

Nagpur Railway Station

The main building of Nagpur Railway Station is made up of pink sandstone just like other colonial structures of the Orange City such as RBI, High Court and other prominent buildings. The building on the western side was constructed in 1867 and is declared as a heritage site. Station Code: NGP

Bikaner Railway Station

The Bikaner railway station is a small structure but the construction is heavily drawn from the famed Rajput architecture of the city. The building is painted brick red with white outlines around the bricks. The walls resemble parapets of fort bastions. Station Code: BKN

Charbagh Railway Station

Charbagh Railway Station in Lucknow resembling a palace has a strong Mughal architectural influence. The station was built in 1914 at a whopping cost of Rs 70 lakh. The Station building undoubtedly one of the finest in India has two unique features. From an aerial view the building with its big and small domes resembles a chessboard. Second, from outside the station building very little sound of train can be heard. Station Code: LKO

Cuttack Railway Station

There is something unique for Cutack Railway station in terms of architecture. The station has been modeled as a replica of the nearby historic Barabati fort. The bastions, domes constructed in sandstone look every inch a fort. Station Code: CTC